Way of the Cross

The Stations, or Way of the Cross, are a traditional method of meditating upon Christ's Suffering and Death. The faithful, in imitation of pilgrims to Jerusalem, have the custom of going from image to image, praying and meditating on our Lord's Passion and Death. The meditation given beside each image of the stations is according to the method of St. Alphonsus de Liguori. The meditation given below the image of each station is a more modern interpretation, taken from "Way of the Cross," Msgr. Bernard Powers and "Everyone's Way of the Cross," Clarence Enzler.

It is customary before each station to pray: We adore Thee, O Christ, and we praise Thee; Because by Thy Holy Cross, Thou hast redeemed the world.

After each station, it is laudable to say:

  • 1 - Our Father
  • 1 - Hail Mary
  • 1 - Glory Be, and Have Mercy on us, O Lord; have mercy on us.

Click here to go to the first station »